The Little Things: Part II

I’m getting the sense that “The Little Things” will be a reoccurring segment.  So, first off the American iteration of the napkin has not taken hold here in Hong Kong. I have a feeling in fancier establishments napkins might be more common, but in the cheap and delicious “dives” I frequent the best I’ve gotten is a single-ply tissue.  Also have gotten tissue paper (the type normally reserved for wrapping gifts).

Next, this morning while wandering around Kowloon for breakfast with an old friend, we stumbled into a small “cafe.”  I ordered two fried eggs with bread and sausage.  Everything was well done, but the sausages were actually hot dogs. Not even sure they were Hebrew nationals.  Its what I deserve.

Most restaurants will serve hot tea as you sit down.  Its a wonderful little refreshment even in 95 degree weather. Typically, I enjoy finishing my entire drink as I get ready to leave.  I learned quickly that if you finish your drink, it is a sign that you want a refill.  Of course I didn’t pick up this bit at first, so I, out of habit, finished my drink three freaking times.

One response to “The Little Things: Part II

  1. Thanks for the tissue-paper-napkin trick. I knew I was saving all that tissue paper for something. A new wrinkle for you to look forward to when you return home for Christmas dinner! I do enjoy your “the little things” posts. We take much for granted in the USA and your observations on the details really hit home.

Leave a comment